Staying focused, while walking through the valley

When you are going through a season, it can feel very lonely, confusing, and isolating. 

A few years ago, when my son was in the 1st grade and was not reading at the level he should. I had to make a decision and I didn’t know what to do. The options being presented did not feel like that would have been best for him. Sure, enough while Howard (daddy) & I contemplated what to do everywhere I turned all I could see and hear was other people kids getting awards for reading, making it to the honor roll, special recognition. It seemed every kid everywhere in the world was a genius, thriving except my child….and so I prayed, harder and more fervently than I have ever prayed for him. I prayed for God to reveal to me what decisions to make for him, this funny intelligent child of mine that could not read. I was led to home-school, even though I knew nothing about it, knew no-one who was home-schooled and not many persons supported or understood this move, however I knew in my soul this was what I needed to do for him. Within three months of starting my baby was reading, I could not believe it, I was beyond elated and so very relieved, happy he was reading before he was a teenager, sounds crazy I know but when we look at problems with our own eyes it seems way bigger and even more impossible than it is.  It has been almost 4 years and my sweetheart is 11 years old now, almost 14 as he likes to say…I seriously don’t know what magic lies in becoming 14 but I digress. I can proudly state he is a reading and spelling genius; he corrects My spelling sometimes (imagine that) he continues to thrive in his home-school environment. He is fascinated with words and their meanings but, will never admit to this publicly.

I look back now and see how I was guided, how the right persons were placed in my space at the right times, to provide the support needed and whatever was called for at that time.  I have grown and learned so much about transferring knowledge, different learning/teaching styles and just things I didn’t think of or knew before. Most importantly, I have realized learning like most things is not a one size fits all. My views are different now. I now know there are other routes that can take us to the very same destination, you just need to pray and figure out what road works best for you and take it.

They say a mind stretched can never go back and I have come to see that this is true.

Leave a comment